Leadership for Iowa Award

The Leadership for Iowa Award is presented annually to a past participant of the Leadership Iowa program who exemplifies outstanding leadership in the community and the state of Iowa. This award is presented each year at the Leadership Iowa Graduation.

Leadership Iowa is currently accepting nominations for this year's Leadership for Iowa Award. To nominate an individual for the award, please complete a nomination form found online here. The submission deadline has been extended to Tuesday, April 14.

Leadership for Iowa Award nominees must:

  • Show a demonstrated commitment to serve Iowa
  • Have a responsible position of leadership in employment and/or volunteer organizations, resulting in the potential to contribute to leadership development within a local or a statewide setting
  • Have demonstrated a leadership role in local or statewide volunteer service to civic or professional organizations
  • Have demonstrated the ability to undertake a leadership role on difficult or controversial subjects
  • Be involved in projects designed to enhance the quality of life in Iowa


Congratulations to our past Leadership for Iowa Award Recipients:

John McCarroll

Ames, IA
LI Director 1991

Cynthia Eisenhauer
Ankeny, IA
LI 1985-86

Steve Bogle
Des Moines, IA
LI 2004-05

Donna Walgren-King
LI 1990-91

Ron Geiger
LI 1987-88

Doug Reichardt
Des Moines, IA
LI 1982-83

Mark Feldmann
Des Moines, IA
LI 1990-91

Jodi Tymeson
Winterset, IA
LI 1999-00

Kirk Tyler
Waukee, Iowa
LI 1992-93

Martha Willits
Des Moines, IA
LI 1985-86

Sharon Juon
Waterloo, IA
LI 1987-88

Mary Lawyer
Des Moines, IA
LI 200-01

Maggie Tinsman
Bettendorf, IA
LI 1987-88

Rand Fisher
Des Moines, IA
LI 1984-85

Charles Sukup
Sheffield, Iowa
LI 1989-90

David Oman
Des Moines, IA
LI 1985-86

John Sorensen
Johnston, IA
LI 1995-96

David Vaudt
Norwalk, IA
LI 1987-88

Walt Smith
Newton, IA
LI 1982-83

Tom McMahon
Fairfield, IA
LI 1997-98

Wes Ehrecke
West Des Moines, IA
LI 1990-91

Sarah Hasken
Dubuque, IA
LI 2004-05

Jack Lashier
Grimes, IA
LI 1988-89

Rick Tollakson
Des Moines, IA
LI 1992-93