First Round of Legislative and Congressional Maps Unveiled

September 17, 2021

On Thursday, September 16, the nonpartisan Legislative Services Agency (LSA), the research and bill writing arm of the Iowa Legislature, released maps that define House and Senate districts for the Iowa General Assembly for the 2022-2030 elections. The new maps reflect population changes that have occurred since the last decennial census. The LSA also released new maps for Iowa’s four U.S. Congressional districts.
Here is an overview of the new maps, starting with Congress:

  • Congresswoman Ashley Hinson, who now represents northeast Iowa from her home in Linn County, would run for re-election in a district that would serve southeast Iowa.
  • Congresswoman Mariannette Miller-Meeks who currently serves southeast Iowa from her home in Ottumwa would run for reelection to serve in a district in northeast Iowa bordered by Minnesota and Wisconsin.
  • Congresswoman Cindy Axne, who has been representing central and southwestern Iowa to the Nebraska border, would run again to serve Polk and Dallas counties along with counties in southern-central Iowa to the Missouri border.
  • Congressman Randy Feenstra, now representing northwest Iowa, would see a large geographic expansion of the district at the next election. The new district would include the most northwestern and southwestern counties in Iowa and in the north would run along the Minnesota border to within 60 miles of the Wisconsin border.

The new House and Senate maps will take a bit of time to analyze but some information jumps out to illustrate how much change can accompany redistricting. 

  • Of the 150 sitting members of the legislature, 54 are now in districts with fellow incumbents.  
  • Of the 50 newly drawn Senate districts, 13 have no incumbent living within their boundaries.
  • Of the 9 new freshman GOP House members, 6 are now in districts with fellow incumbents.

ABI staff will monitor the reaction of various elected officials to the new maps as the October 5, 2021 special session for their consideration draws near. If you have questions about changes in your local districts, please email