House and Senate Chairs and Vice Chairs Announced

December 3, 2020

Speaker of the House Pat Grassley and Senate Majority Leader Jack Whitver unveiled their selections for committee chairs and vice chairs this week. We’re just over a month out from the start of the 89th General Assembly. Republicans maintained their majorities following the 2020 elections and will set the agenda in the new year.

On the Senate side, here are some of the most significant appointments. Jason Schultz (R-Schleswig) will lead the Commerce Committee. Dan Dawson (R-Council Bluffs) will head up Ways & Means as the former chair of that committee, Jake Chapman (R-Adel), has become Senate President. Zach Whiting (R-Spirit Lake), who floor managed the COVID-19 limited liability legislation last session, will chair Labor and Business Relations. Leader Whitver also announced that Sen. Zach Nunn (R-Altoona) is on active military duty and will miss the 2021 legislative session. You can view all of the Senate chairs and vice chairs here.  

On the House side, small business owner Shannon Lundgren (R-Peosta) will lead Commerce, Lee Hein (R-Monticello) will continue his role as Ways & Means Chair, Dustin Hite (R-New Sharon) will head up Education, Dave Deyoe (R-Nevada) will maintain his position as Labor Chair, and Ray “Bubba” Sorensen (R-Greenfield) will take charge of the Economic Growth Committee. A new standing committee, Information Technology, was formed and will be led by Brian Lohse (R-Bondurant). This committee will be focused on state technology information, broadband and cybersecurity issues. You can view all of the House chairs and vice chairs here.