Iowa Democratic Senate Leadership Change

October 26, 2017

In a surprise move by the Iowa Senate Democrats on Sunday, a closed-door caucus resulted in a leadership change. Senator Janet Petersen (D-Des Moines) was selected to replace Senator Rob Hogg (D-Cedar Rapids) as Minority Leader. The mid-cycle change in leadership shows Iowa Senate Democrats want a change in direction approaching the 2018 election.

Petersen is in her second term in the Iowa Senate after serving six terms in the Iowa House of Representatives. She represents Senate District 18 and has served on a variety of committees, most recently as the ranking member on the Commerce Committee. She also serves on the Government Oversight, Judiciary, State Government and Ways & Means committees. Petersen was born in Beaverdale and has lived in northwest Des Moines most of her life.

Read more:

  • Iowa Senate Dems choose Janet Petersen as new minority leader (Des Moines Register)
  • Iowa Senate Democrats oust Hogg, opt for new leadership with Petersen (The Gazette)