Iowa House and Senate GOP Select Leadership Teams for 2021; Petersen Steps Down as Senate Minority Leader

November 12, 2020

Following decisive election results for Republicans in the Iowa Legislature, both the House and Senate GOP caucuses met over the last week and chose their respective leaders for the coming year. The GOP will head into the 89th General Assembly with a 59-41 advantage in the House and a 32-18 majority in the Senate. Committee chairs are expected to be chosen in the near future. It was reported yesterday that Senate Democratic Minority Leader Janet Petersen will not seek re-election to her current post. Democrats in both chambers have yet to meet to choose their respective leadership. View the GOP leadership teams of both chambers below.

  • Senate
    • Jack Whitver of Ankeny (Majority Leader)
    • Jake Chapman of Adel (Senate President)
    • Brad Zaun of Urbandale (Senate President Pro-Tempore)
    • Amy Sinclair of Allerton (Majority Whip)
    • Carrie Koelker of Dyersville (Assistant Leader)
    • Chris Cournoyer of LeClaire (Assistant Leader)
    • Zach Whiting of Spirit Lake (Assistant Leader)
    • Mark Lofgren of Muscatine (Assistant Leader)
  • House
    • Pat Grassley of New Hartford (Speaker)
    • Matt Windschitl of Missouri Valley (Majority Leader)
    • John Wills of Spirit Lake (Speaker Pro-Tempore)
    • Mike Sexton of Rockwell City (Majority Whip)