Iowa House elects Upmeyer as first female speaker

August 20, 2015

Republican lawmakers today elected Rep. Linda Upmeyer (R-Clear Lake) to serve as the first woman speaker of the Iowa House of Representatives in state history.

Upmeyer replaces Rep. Kraig Paulsen (R-Hiawatha) who announced earlier this month that he won’t be seeking re-election to the Iowa House. She will officially take over the position in January, when the Iowa Legislature convenes.

Rep. Chris Hagenow (R-Windsor Heights) will replace Upmeyer as House majority leader. Both Upmeyer and Hagenow have been strong supporters of Iowa business. Rep. Joel Fry (R-Osceola) will serve as House majority whip and Rep. Zach Nunn (R-Bondurant) will serve as assistant majority leader.