Nominees chosen for special election in House District 22

June 1, 2017

Republicans, Democrats and Libertarians chose their candidates at special conventions this week for a House seat left vacant by the passing of Rep. Greg Forristall. Republicans nominated Jon Jacobsen, a resident of Treynor and a vice president at Security National Bank in Council Bluffs. Democrats chose Ray Stevens, Director of Facilities & Grounds at Council Bluffs Water Works. Libertarians selected Bryan Jack Holder who has run for the office in the past as their nominee. 

Republicans have a large voter registration advantage in the district and are expected to hold the seat. The election will take place June 27th. If you are located in District 22 or have employees who live in District 22 make sure to check out for information about registering to vote and voting absentee in the special election.