Record Turnout for Iowa’s Primary; Notable Results from Tuesday

June 4, 2020

Secretary of State (SOS) Paul Pate announced a record number of Iowans cast their ballots in the June 2 primary. Voters chose the respective Republican and Democratic nominees for a number of offices at the county, state and federal level. The SOS released Wednesday that more than 500,000 ballots were cast. The record turnout is likely attributable to absentee ballot requests being sent to all registered voters. 

Perhaps the biggest result of the night came in the 4th Congressional District as State Sen. Randy Feenstra defeated longtime incumbent Congressman Steve King by approximately 10 points. The victory for Feenstra turns this race from a toss-up to being a likely Republican hold in the fall.

Other Congressional primary results include David Young becoming the Republican nominee for the 3rd District. The former two-term Congressman will challenge Congresswoman Cindy Axne in a rematch from 2018. Republican State Rep. Ashley Hinson will take on Congresswoman Abby Finkenauer in the 1st District, and Republican State Sen. Mariannette Miller-Meeks will challenge former Democratic Lt. Gov. nominee Rita Hart in the 2nd District. Theresa Greenfield also won the U.S. Senate Democratic primary by a resounding margin. She’ll take on U.S. Sen. Joni Ernst in November. View the full unofficial results.