Republican house leadership election scheduled

August 13, 2015

The election to replace Speaker Kraig Paulsen (R-Hiawatha) will take place Aug. 20 in Des Moines. Current Majority Leader Linda Upmeyer (R-Clear Lake) is running for the position, as is Representative Josh Byrnes (R-Osage). Rep. Chris Hagenow (R-Windsor Heights) is running to replace Majority Leader Upmeyer. We will report on the outcome of the election next week.