Senate Republicans Announce Committee Leadership Changes

June 13, 2019

Sen. Dan Dawson (R-Council Bluffs) has been named Chairman of the Commerce Committee. He replaces Sen. Jake Chapman (R-Adel). Sen. Chapman has been named the Chairman of the Senate Ways and Means Committee. He replaces Sen. Randy Feenstra (R-Hull), who is running in the 4th Congressional District Republican primary. Feenstra had been chairman of the committee since Republicans took control of the Senate following the 2016 election. He has been a strong supporter of the business community during his time in the Iowa Legislature. You can read the list of all the committee changes.