Senate Republicans Select New Majority Leader and President

March 15, 2018

The Senate Republican caucus elected Sen. Jack Whitver of Ankeny to serve as Majority Leader and Sen. Charles Schneider of West Des Moines to serve as Senate President on Wednesday. Sen. Amy Sinclair of Allerton was chosen to be Majority Whip and Sen. Jake Chapman of Adel will join the leadership team as the newest Assistant Leader. The elections were called following the resignation of former Senate Majority Leader Bill Dix of Shell Rock on Monday. Sen. Schneider is currently the Appropriations Chair and will remain in that role. All four of these senators have been strong supporters of the business community. ABI congratulates the individuals who were elected on Wednesday.