Senate welcomes new leaders and members

January 12, 2017

Sen. Jack Whitver (R-Ankeny) was sworn in as the new president of the Iowa Senate replacing Sen. Pam Jochum (D-Dubuque). Whitver’s opening speech highlighted the optimism for the future of the state of Iowa and the idea of all senators thinking big and bold. Click here to read his remarks. New Senate Majority Leader Bill Dix (R-Shell Rock) also emphasized the opportunities the state has for the future and his primary objective for this session: growth.  Click here to read his remarks. New Senate Minority Leader Rob Hogg (D-Cedar Rapids) spoke about past bipartisan achievements of the Legislature, the need to raise the minimum wage, increasing education funding, water quality funding, and Treasury Secretary Mike Fitzgerald’s “Iowa Retirement Savings Plan.” Click here to read his remarks. There are eight newly elected senators for the 87th General Assembly.