Special election for Iowa House District 82 Tuesday

August 2, 2017

ABI members in the southeast Iowa counties of Jefferson, Davis and Van Buren, including the communities of Fairfield, Bloomfield, Keosauqua and smaller communities will have the opportunity to cast a ballot in the special election on Tuesday, August 8.

Four candidates are on the ballot in Iowa House District 82 to fill the seat vacated by the passing of Representative Curt Hanson (D-Fairfield). Phil Miller: The Democratic nominee is a veterinarian who resides in Fairfield. Miller is also President of the Fairfield Community School Board District. He is married and has four adult children. Travis Harris: The Republican nominee is a Director on the Southern Iowa Electric Cooperative. Harris is a resident of Moulton and serves on the Davis County Community Foundation board. He is married and has three children. Other candidates: Libertarian nominee Joshua Miller and Constitutional Party nominee Edward Hee III will also appear on the ballot.

This district is considered competitive and Republicans and Democrats are spending lots of resources in the district to elect their candidate. Voter registration totals as of August 1st are: 6,257 registered Democrats, 6,611 registered Republicans, 64 Libertarians and 5,738 no party. Absentee ballots can be requested at the local county auditor's office until Friday, August 4th at 5:00 pm. The Auditor’s office in your county will be open on Saturday for at least eight hours to allow in-person voting. The polls will be open from 7:00 am to 9:00 pm on the 8th. For more information about this race, click here.