Statehouse leadership changes finalized

December 8, 2016

Republicans and Democrats have finalized leadership and committee chairperson positions for the 2017 legislative session which will begin on Jan. 9, 2017.  House and Senate Republicans solidified their leaders soon after the election. The Senate Democrats elected a new leader late last month to replace longtime leader, former Sen. Mike Gronstal. Sen. Rob Hogg (D-Cedar Rapids) was unanimously elected by his colleagues to serve as the new minority leader. Click here to see the full list of Senate Democrat leaders. House and Senate Republicans have also announced their committee assignments for the coming session.  Click here to see who will serve as leaders of House committees, and here to see a list of Senate committee leaders. ABI congratulates the new leaders and committee chairs and looks forward to working with them in the 2017 legislative session.

Read more: Hogg chosen to lead Iowa Senate Democrats (The Gazette)            
                       New Senate GOP majority eliminates one committee (Waterloo-Cedar Falls Courier)