Three Finalists Announced for Iowa Supreme Court Seat

March 12, 2020

Last Friday, the Judicial Nominating Commission nominated three individuals to interview before Gov. Reynolds for the opportunity to serve on the Iowa Supreme Court. There will soon be a vacancy as Justice David Wiggins will retire from the bench in the next few weeks. The first finalist was Matt McDermott, who was a finalist for the previous vacancy. McDermott is an attorney at Belin McCormick, P.C. in Des Moines. Judge David May, who is an Iowa Court of Appeals judge from Polk City, was the second finalist. The third finalist was Mary Chicchelly, a District Court Judge out of the Sixth Judicial District in Cedar Rapids. Gov. Reynolds will name the new justice in the near future. This will be her fourth appointment to the High Court during her tenure as governor.