Wiggins Retirement and Three Finalists Announced for Iowa Supreme Court

January 16, 2020

There has been a whirlwind of activity over the last few weeks in the Iowa Judicial Branch. Last Thursday, the State Judicial Nominating Commission unveiled three nominees to fill the seat of late Iowa Supreme Court Chief Justice Mark Cady. Gov. Reynolds has 30 days to select the new justice, who will be either District Court Judge Joel Barrows of Bettendorf, attorney Matt McDermott of Des Moines or attorney Dana Oxley of Cedar Rapids.

Acting Iowa Supreme Court Chief Justice David Wiggins announced last Friday that he will retire from the Court on March 13. He was appointed to the High Court by Gov. Vilsack in 2003. His current term was set to expire at the end of this year. His replacement will be chosen by Gov. Reynolds in the next several months. This will be Gov. Reynolds' fourth appointment to the Iowa Supreme Court, which is composed of seven justices. Read more from the Des Moines Register