Hasken honored with Leadership for Iowa award

July 14, 2017 | Global Growth: How Iowa companies find success abroad Emily Schettler, Iowa Association of Business and Industry, eschettler@iowaabi.org

The Iowa Association of Business and Industry (ABI) Foundation recognized Sarah Hasken of Dubuque with its prestigious Leadership for Iowa award during the 2017 Taking Care of Business Conference. The honor is bestowed on a distinguished alumnus of the Leadership Iowa program.

“Sarah has been a strong advocate and leader for the state and in particular Dubuque and northeast Iowa for more than three decades,” ABI President Mike Ralson said. Hasken served as ABI chair when the Taking Care of Business Conference last visited Dubuque in 2011.

Hasken is regional director of operations for the Organized System of Care at UnityPoint Health-Finley Hospital in Dubuque, and was a member of the 2004-05 Leadership Iowa class. She has also provided leadership to numerous state, civic and nonprofit efforts. Hasken serves on the statewide board of directors for the Iowa Innovation Corp.

Before joining Finley, Hasken served several roles at A.Y. McDonald Industries Inc. and its subsidiaries and has nearly 30 years of experience in manufacturing and wholesale.

Recipients of the prestigious Leadership for Iowa award must show a demonstrated commitment to serve Iowa, have held a leadership role volunteering for civic or professional organizations, have demonstrated the ability to lead on difficult or controversial subjects, and be involved in projects designed to enhance the quality of life in Iowa.

Honorees also must have a responsible position of leadership in employment or volunteer organizations that results in the potential to contribute to leadership development within a local or statewide setting.

Past Leadership for Iowa Award Winners
John McCarroll (LI director, 1991)
Cynthia Eisenhower (LI 1985-86)
Steve Bogle (LI 2004-05)
Donna Walgren-King (LI 1990-91)
Ron Geiger (LI 1987-88)
Doug Reichardt (LI 1982-83)
Mark Feldmann (LI 1990-91)
Jodi Tymeson (LI 1999-00)
Kirk Tyler (LI 1992-93)
Martha Willits (LI 1985-86)
Sharon Juon (LI 1987-88)
Mary Lawyer (LI 2000-01)
Maggie Tinsman (LI 1987-88)
Rand Fisher (LI 1984-85)
Charles Sukup (LI 1989-90)
David Oman (LI 1985-86)
John Sorensen (LI 1995-96)
David Vaudt (LI 1987-88)
Walt Smith (LI 1982-83)
Tom McMahon (LI 1997-98)
Wes Ehrecke (LI 1990-91)